Stranded at drive in, branded a fool…*

Today was a big day. Today we drove out to meet up with some women I have been close close friends with since I found out I was pregnant with my son four years ago but have never met in person.  We’ve spoken on Mumsnet and Facebook, we’ve shared photos, stories, health problems, baby pics, videos, support, care, advice and every little thing about our lives, but we’d never met in person.

I was excited and nervous and meeting up with them was wonderful. We clicked. It was just like talking to them online, only they were right there in front of me. Like I’d known them in person for all that time. The only downside – Soft play hell.

Soft play was so awful it may make its own blog post someday soon, but that’s not the subject of today’s fuck up.  No. Today I misheard the postcode of the place we were moving on to after the manic soft play. What should have been a 5 or 6 minute drive turned into a 25 minute drive to a complete dead end before I checked the location on my phone. What a prat.  We were now 20 minutes behind everyone else and still 20 minutes away. I swear I thought I was going to have a panic attack.

I felt foolish and hated myself.  Perhaps it was flashbacks to childhood journeys with my father going postal over a traffic jam or any kind of delay. Perhaps it was just the feeling stupid and being rather hormonal and sleep-deprived taking it a bit far. Who knows.

We got there eventually, more than 40 minutes later, just as two of the other families were packing up to leave. I wish I could be funnier about this, but I still feel a bit embarrassed and daft.  Fine family fun for a Sunday. Especially with the car-hating baby having hysterics every time she got strapped into the car seat again. Be still my beating hormones – I thought my boobs were going to explode.

So not quite stranded (once we’d reprogrammed the sat nav and backed out of the dead end we’d found ourselves in) but definitely definitely branded a fool.  Just fire up the forge and heat up that iron. I’ll bend over and take it like a man.


* For bonus points name the film the title’s ‘quote’ comes from…

Please let me know what you think about this :-)

