Working around your children…literally

Trying to find time to work was hard enough as a stay-at-home mum of one – then he gets his 15 funded hours of preschool time and I produce child number two and now it’s nearly impossible. Even when The Boy is at preschool The Girl can be guaranteed to nap-refuse just as I most need time to get stuff done, or will wait until I finish the housework and then wake up, leaving me with no time to do any work work.

I have found some kind of solution, such as it is. I’m writing to you from the lovely Treehouse, our local softplay that I reviewed here.  It has a small cafe and free WiFi and keeps The Boy (mostly) entertained. Plus, because I’m out of the house there’s no chance I’ll get any housework done, however much  I may need to (and I do, it looks like a laundry bomb went off in there and targeted a few toy boxes on the way).

20150707_105358

Working around Baby

My cunning plan would have worked slightly better if The Girl was the kind of baby who slept in her buggy (when I occasionally use it), but she’s really more of a home comforts kind of gal and if she can’t have her own downy couch then only mummy’s well-padded bosom will do as a substitute, so I’m doing exactly what I would at home – writing around a wriggly baby, but at least The Boy is entertained and not by being plonked in front of the telly – and I’m writing on a not-school day! Now, if only I could stop him nagging for cakes…

2 thoughts on “Working around your children…literally

Please let me know what you think about this :-)

