Messy play and muddy walks – fun in the country

I was challenged to write a post about messy play with my children (if you enjoy it please vote for me here, I’d be super duper grateful)- how I did laugh. It would strain my capabilities far more to find some non-messy play to write about in this house! Life with a three year old is basically one of containment and crisis management. From the time he discovered an open bag of flour on a low shelf to the time he realised you could colour the kitchen floor in with a green sharpie (don’t. Just… don’t. The memory still makes me shudder) I spend my life cleaning up messes and trying to stop the laundry basket overflowing to the point where the entire landing  becomes the laundry basket.

From playdough jam tarts (green is such an appetising colour, no?)
20151114_164421.jpg
to baking (licking the bowl is the best bit, right?) our every day lived experience is messy play.

bakeoff

With that in mind I actually didn’t need to set up a special messy play session, however, living in the countryside, muddy walks are actually our default position when we need something to do. We usually do three or four a week when the smalls are up to it, but The Girl is Les Miz at the moment and The Boy is currently suffering from ‘Old legs’ (a consequence of shooting up 2cm in the space of a week I suspect) so we’re confined to barracks far more than normal.

When we head out we have a litany of songs to sing (as well as full, head-to-toe waterproofs, I’m not silly. Also useful when he spills his thermos of hot chocolate down his front, which seems to be unavoidable), favourite of which is “The Hippopotamus ” by Flanders & Swann.

c360_2015-11-13-14-34-33-309.jpg

Here he is actually sitting in a muddy puddle. Go figure.

Here’s The Boy bellowing as he stomps, unfortunately (?) not the most impressive mud we’ve encountered, but c’est la vie.

We also like to give voice to a series of other relevant ditties (song and rhyme), a list of which follows, but do let me know if you have any more suggestions as we’re always looking to add to our repertoire:
– The sun has got his hat on
– It’s raining, it’s pouring
– You are my sunshine
– Rain rain go away  (noticing a theme here? We are in England after all, home of the changeable weather front)
– There’s a worm at the bottom of my garden
– Incy wincy spider

And when we resume our walks we’ll be launching into some nice seasonal favourites too, like Frosty the Snowman, Snowflake and Nick Cope’s fabulous It’s a Snowman Kinda Day.

The straight back home for a nice hose-down in the back garden!

Please let me know what you think about this :-)

